The top high school football teams since 2003

By Stephen Spiewak | Posted 8/10/2017

The high school football season will kick off across the country in the next few weeks, as 15,000 high school chase the ultimate goal of capturing a state title.

For a handful of the country’s most elite squads, winning a state title is just part of the equation. Capturing a mythical national title and etching a place in high school football history are lofty goals for the a handful of high school football's best squads.

As the 2017 season gets set to kick off, here’s a look at the top individual high school football team seasons, as ranked by CalPreps:

10 – 2015 De La Salle (Concord, Calif.)

After a season-opening road loss to Euless Trinity (Texas), De La Salle rattled off 13 consecutive victories, capped by a CIF Bowl Game victory over Centennial, which entered the game undefeated and posted a whopping 812 points on the season.

9 – 2016 St. John Bosco (Bellflower, Calif.)

Amazingly, last year’s St. John Bosco squad cracks the list despite two losses. It’s a little less surprising when you consider that the defeats were at the hands of Bishop Gorman and Mater Dei, respectively. St. John Bosco avenged the latter with a playoff victory before going on to add wins over Centennial and De La Salle en route to another CIF Bowl Game title.

8 – 2004 Southlake Carroll (Texas)

After capturing a state title in 2002, Carroll failed to win a state title in 2003. The 2004 season, however, marked the first of the program’s “three-peat” run, led by quarterback Chase Daniel. A late field goal lifted Carroll to a 27-24 victory over Smithson Valley in the title game.

7 – 2013 Allen (Texas)

Kyler Murray, who is regarded as arguably the top Texas high school football quarterback of all time, was the leader of this Allen squad, which cruised through the regular season, with victories over the likes of Carroll and Cedar Hill. The only really competitive game Allen played was against DeSoto, which it won, 42-35.

6 – 2004 Colerain (Ohio)

The 2004 Colerain team is renowned in the Buckeye State for its otherworldly defense. Head coach Kerry Coombs led the team to a 15-0 record, outscoring opponents by a whopping 695-98. In the Division 1 title game, Colerain blasted McKinley, 50-10.

5 – 2016 Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas)

Last year’s Bishop Gorman squad was one of the top teams in recent memory. It defeated teams from five different states and featured Tate Martell, one of the most decorate high school football quarterbacks of all time.

4 – 2013 St. John Bosco (Bellflower, Calif.)

The 2013 St. John Bosco squad could win all types of games. It hung 70 points in a shootout victory over Corona Centennial, then outlasted juggernaut De La Salle 20-14 in a slugfest the next week to capture the CIF Open Division Bowl Game. Quarterback Josh Rosen threw for 3,200 yards and 39 touchdowns to power head coach Jason Negro’s squad.

3 – 2005 Southlake Carroll (Texas)

The 2005 iteration of the Dragons etched another 16-0, state title-winning season. It closed its season with consecutive victories over Allen, Abilene, Plano, Lufkin and Katy—a veritable gauntlet of Texas high school football powerhouses.

2 – 2006 Southlake Carroll (Texas)

This was the top team of the Carroll dynasty, led by a trio of juniors: quarterback Riley Dodge, running back Tre Newton and receiver Blake Cantu. After surviving a playoff showdown against Euless Trinity, 22-21, Carroll romped the rest of the way, including a 38-0 win over rival Allen, en route to a Class 5A-I state title.

1 – 2011 Don Bosco Prep (Ramsey, N.J.)

The dominance of this team cannot be understated. Only once did Don Bosco Prep not win by more than a touchdown — Week 2, in a road game against Manatee (Bradenton, Fla.). Don Bosco Prep won convincingly against Mission Viejo (Calif.), St. Edward (Ohio) and the rest of its New Jersey schedule. This team featured a number of future NFL players including Leonte Carroo, Alquadin Muhammad and a young Jabrill Peppers.