Ask the Official: Can you attempt a pass after a blocked field goal?

By Adam Wire | Posted 11/20/2017

Welcome to Ask the Official, a weekly blog series from USA Football. We’ve teamed up with Bill LeMonnier, USA Football rules editor, who’s served as a college football referee and also works with ESPN as a rules analyst. Look for LeMonnier’s blog every week during football season, as we take reader-submitted questions or revisit a controversial play that took place the previous weekend. See below for information on how to submit your questions. Here’s today’s topic:

RELATED CONTENT: Ask the official: Pass interference enforcement

Q: If a field goal is blocked and the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage, I know the offense can recover the ball and advance the football. But can the offense can recover the same blocked field goal behind the line of scrimmage and make a forward pass?

A: "When a kick, field goal attempt or punt is blocked and the ball stays behind the line of scrimmage, if the offense recovers the ball, it can run, pass or kick."

USA Football Rules Editor Bill LeMonnier is a former college football referee who currently serves as an ESPN NCAA rules analyst. Click here to ask Bill a question. Make sure to put “Ask the Official” in the subject line.

RELATED CONTENT: Ask the Official: How are face mask penalties marked off?