IFAF Flag Football World Championships in Panama begin Thursday

By USA Football | Posted 8/8/2018

U.S. National Teams comprised of 26 athletes across seven states compete for gold medals

The 2018 International Federation of American Football (IFAF) Men’s and Women’s Flag Football World Championships will be held in Panama City, Panama from Aug. 9-12. The event will feature 21 national teams – 10 Men’s and 11 Women’s – at Costa Del Este Sports Center and Maracana Stadium. Each world championship will culminate in Gold Medal games on Sunday, Aug. 12.

The ninth IFAF Women’s and Men’s Flag Football World Championships, which are held every two years since their establishment in 2002, are global tournaments of national teams competing for gold, silver and bronze medals. National teams competing in the 2018 IFAF Flag World Championships span four continents: Asia, Europe, North America and South America.

IFAF Flag World Championship game livestreams and information resides at www.ffwc2018.org.

RELATED CONTENT: IFAF Flag Football World Championships: U.S. men's, women's coaches optimistic about gold medal chances in Panama

The U.S. Men’s and Women’s teams are both led by experienced coaches. Matt Reimel of Philadelphia is the U.S. Men’s head coach. Following his 10-year adult flag football playing career, Reimel has coached on adult and youth flag levels for 12 seasons. 

Chris Lankford of Dallas is the U.S. Women’s head coach. Lankford has won six United States Flag & Touch Football League National Championships. His experience comes from coaching the top women’s flag players in the country. His international experience comes from coaching in tournaments in Canada and Mexico. 

Player selection for the U.S. Men’s and Women’s Flag Football National Team rosters is based on skill evaluation and a written application process through USA Football, a member of the U.S. Olympic Committee. Each U.S. roster is comprised of 14 men and 12 women, spanning seven states.

2018 U.S. Men’s National Team Flag Football roster:

Frankie Solomon, WR, 5-11, 185, Dallas, TX

Eric Holliday, QB, 6-2, 205, Lantana, TX

Jeffery Reimel, R, 6-2, 190, Lansdale, PA

Terrance Fox, WR, 5-8, 185, Bound Brook, NJ

Chase Junker, R, 5-9, 170, Sunrise, FL

Ramonce Taylor, WR, 5-11, 205, Temple, TX

Justin Romano, DB, 5-11, 175, Sunrise, FL

Carlos Jaime, WR, 5-11, 190, Miami, FL

Jorge Cascudo, QB, 5-10, 220, Miami, FL

Ouslet Volvy, WR, 5-8, 165, Miami, FL

Greg Meek, WR, 5-11, 175, Garland, TX

Corey Webb, WR, 5-9, 190, Dallas, TX

Head Coach: Matt Reimel, Philadelphia, PA

2018 U.S. Women’s National Team Flag Football roster:

Dacia McGowan, DB, 5-2, Dallas, TX

Joann Overstreet, WR, 5-5, Lewisville, TX

Tamikki Williams, WR, 5-9, Lewisville, TX

Keisa Brown, R, 5-1, Dallas, TX

Vanita Krouch, QB, 5-5, Carrollton, TX

Ashley Whisonant, WR, 5-6, Woodbridge, VA

Stacy Agee, C, 5-5, Houston, TX

Elizabeth Sowers, WR, 5-9, Prairie Village, KS

Mariah Gearhart, R, 5-8, Kissimmee, FL

Rebecca Crabb, WR, 5-9, San Carlos, CA

Sheneika Adger-Comice, WR, 5-9, Tampa, FL

Michelle Roque, WR, 5-4, Tallahassee, FL

Head coach: Chris Lankford, Dallas, TX

Participating Countries:

Men’s: Austria, Canada, Denmark, Guatemala, India, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Panama, United States

Women’s: Austria, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Guatemala, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Panama, United States

Men’s USA Pool Play Schedule (U.S. Eastern Time)

Aug. 9

USA vs. Japan 9 a.m.

Austria vs. USA 3:15 p.m.

Aug. 10

USA vs. Japan 9 a.m.

USA vs. Denmark 2 p.m.

Aug. 11

USA vs. Panama 3:15 p.m.

Women’s USA Pool Play Schedule (U.S. Eastern Time)

Aug. 9

USA vs. Israel 10:15 a.m.

Austria vs. USA 2 p.m.

Aug. 10

Denmark vs.USA 10:15 a.m.

Aug. 11

Mexico vs. USA 3:15 p.m.

The U.S. Men’s Flag Team has earned gold medals in each of the previous two IFAF world championships in 2016 (Miami, Florida) and 2014 (Grosseto, Italy). The American men have won three total gold medals (2010, 2014, 2016), tying Austria (2002, 2004, 2012) for most in the event’s history. U.S. National Teams have competed in IFAF Flag World Championships since 2008.

The U.S. Women’s Flag Team attained a fifth-place finish in the 2016 IFAF World Championship. The American women have earned three silver medals (2010, 2012, 2014) since their IFAF Flag World Championship debut in 2008.

Previous IFAF Flag Football World Championships have been played in Austria (2002), France (2004), South Korea (2006), Canada (2008, 2010), Sweden (2012), Italy (2014) and Miami (2016).

USA Football, the sport’s national governing body and a member of the U.S. Olympic Committee, manages U.S. national teams for international competitions. According to IFAF, approximately 70 countries across six continents play American Football.

RELATED CONTENT: U.S. National Team rosters, schedule set for IFAF Flag Football World Championships