Which high school football team has the longest winning streak in each state?

By Adam Wire | Posted 8/3/2018

Kimberly High School's Danny Kaltenbaugh celebrates Nov. 17, 2017 after the Papermakers won their 70th straight game and fifth consecutive state championship. (Photo via postcrescent.com)

As high school football season approaches, several squads nationwide will bring long winning streaks into the season that they hope to defend.

The longest streak nationwide? That belongs to Kimberly (Wisconsin) High School, which has won 70 straight, dating to Aug. 23, 2013.

RELATED CONTENT: A look around the country as high school football practice begins for thousands of teams

Last year, Kimberly went 14-0 and won Wisconsin's Division I state title, but they didn't do it without a few scares along the way. The Papermakers needed a go-ahead touchdown in the game's final minute to defeat Fond du Lac 35-28 in the season opener, and won three other games by single-digit margins.

Kimberly's 70-game streak is still short of the all-time national high school record, though. De La Salle High School in Concord, California, won 151 straight games in a streak that lasted from 1992 until 2004

Here's a look at the longest winning streak in each state (information courtesy of MaxPreps):

RELATED CONTENT: The oldest high school football rivalries in the U.S.

Alabama: Lanett (15), Pinson Valley (15)

Alaska: Soldotna (59)

Arizona: Desert Heights Prep [Glendale] (23)

Arkansas: Pulaski Academy [Little Rock] (26)

California: McClymonds [Oakland] (25)

Colorado: Sedgwick County [Julesburg] (23)

Connecticut: Choate Rosemary Hall School [Wallingford] (39)

Delaware: Delmar (11)

District of Columbia: Roosevelt (nine)

Florida: IMG Academy [Bradenton] (36)

Georgia: Eagle’s Landing Christian Academy [McDonough] (36)

Hawaii: St. Louis [Honolulu] (15)

RELATED CONTENT: Who has the most unique high school mascot in each state?

Idaho: Fruitland (19)

Illinois: Prairie Ridge [Crystal Lake] (28)

Indiana: Pioneer [Royal Center] (15)

Iowa: Don Bosco [Gilbertville] (21)

Kansas: Bishop Miege [Shawnee Mission] (25); Hanover (25)

Kentucky: Trinity [Louisville] (30)

Louisiana: University Lab [Baton Rouge] (13)

Maine: Wells (16)

Maryland: Damascus (42); Wise [Upper Marlboro] (42)

Massachusetts: King Philip Regional [Wrentham] (25)

Michigan: Catholic Central [Grand Rapids] (20)

Minnesota: Caledonia (41)

RELATED CONTENT: Unique high school football helmets from across the country

Mississippi: Simmons [Hollandale] (40)

Missouri: Lamar (49)

Montana: Billings Senior (26)

Nebraska: Riverside [Cedar Rapids] (37)

Nevada: Bishop Gorman [Las Vegas] (12)

New Hampshire: Plymouth (15)

New Jersey: Westfield (37)

New Mexico: Melrose (22)

New York: Troy (26)

North Carolina: Wake Forest (31)

North Dakota: Hillsboro/Central Valley [Buxton] (12), West Fargo (12), Wyndmere/Lidgerwood (12)

Ohio: Marion Local [Maria Stein] (27)

Oklahoma: Millwood [Oklahoma City] (29)

Oregon: Dufur (20)

Pennsylvania: Cathedral Prep [Erie] (28)

Rhode Island: North Kingstown (13)

South Carolina: Andrew Jackson Academy [Ehrhardt] (37)

South Dakota: Washington [Sioux Falls] (34)

Tennessee: Lausanne Collegiate [Memphis] (27)

Texas: West Orange-Stark [Orange] (40)

Utah: Bingham [South Jordan] (13)

Vermont: Windsor (20)

Virginia: Westfield [Chantilly] (24)

Washington: Royal [Royal City] (41)

West Virginia: Martinsburg (28)

Wisconsin: Kimberly (70)

Wyoming:Kaycee (31)